Data should be saved after each digitizing session, and more frequently if you want to be certain not to lose data to a crash. If you attempt to quit DLTdataviewer without saving new data, a warning window will appear asking if you really want to quit without saving. But if you accidentally quit MATLAB, you will not be asked to save and will lose your data.
The Save Data button in DLTdvBrown acts like a Save As command. Entering the same prefix from session to session is generally desirable and will write over data from a previous digitizing session. Selecting a new prefix will establish an archive of your sessions.
Saving your data creates five files, all with the prefix that you have selected. These are:
- *offsets.csv: lists the offsets for each frame
- *xypts.csv: lists the raw digitized xy coordinates for each camera view in each frame
- *xyzpts.csv: lists the 3D xyz coordinates for each frame once the DLT coefficients have been applied to the 2D data from each camera
- *xyzres.csv: lists the DLT residuals for each marker point in every frame
- *markerDistances.csv: lists the pair-wise distances between all points